erins law map 26


Erin’s Law is named after childhood sexual assault survivor, author, speaker and activist Erin Merryn, who is the founder and President of Erin’s Law, which is registered with the State of Illinois and the IRS as a 501 (c)(4) non-profit social welfare organization.

After Erin introduced the legislation in her home state of Illinois, the bill was named “Erin’s Law” after her by legislators and it has caught on nationwide.

“Erin’s Law” requires that all public schools in each state implement a prevention-oriented child sexual abuse program which teaches:

  1. Students in grades preK – 12th grade, age-appropriate techniques to recognize child sexual abuse and tell a trusted adult
  2. School personnel all about child sexual abuse
  3. Parents & guardians the warning signs of child sexual abuse, plus needed assistance, referral or resource information to support sexually abused children and their families

Already these state governments have passed Erin’s Law in this order:

  1. Illinois
  2. Indiana
  3. Maine
  4. Missouri
  5. Michigan
  6. Arkansas
  7. Mississippi
  8. Nevada
  9. New Mexico
  10. Utah
  11. Tennessee
  12. New Hampshire
  13. Connecticut
  14. Louisiana
  15. South Carolina
  16. Vermont
  17. Pennsylvania
  18. Rhode Island
  19. California
  20. Texas
  21. West Virginia
  22. Oklahoma
  23. Colorado
  24. Oregon
  25. Alabama
  26. Alaska

It is now pending in these additional states, with more to come:

  1. Massachusetts
  2. Delaware
  3. New York
  4. New Jersey
  5. Maryland
  6. North Carolina
  7. Georgia
  8. Florida
  9. Ohio
  10. Kentucky
  11. Iowa
  12. Kansas
  13. Minnesota
  14. Nebraska
  15. South Dakota
  16. Washington
  17. Hawaii