Erin’s Law is named after childhood sexual assault survivor, author, speaker and activist Erin Merryn, who is the founder and President of Erin’s Law, which is registered with the State of Illinois and the IRS as a 501 (c)(4) non-profit social welfare organization.

After Erin introduced the legislation in her home state of Illinois, the bill  was named Erin’s Law after her by legislators and it has caught on nationwide.

“Erin’s Law” requires that all public schools in each state that passes it implement a prevention-oriented child sexual abuse program which teaches:

  1. Students in grades preK – 5th grade, age-appropriate techniques to recognize child sexual abuse and tell a trusted adult
  2. School personnel all about child sexual abuse
  3. Parents & guardians the warning signs of child sexual abuse, plus needed assistance, referral or resource information to support sexually abused children and their families

Already these state governments have passed Erin’s Law:

  1. Illinois
  2. Indiana
  3. Maine
  4. Missouri
  5. Michigan
  6. Arkansas
  7. Mississippi
  8. Nevada

It is now pending in these additional states, with more to come:

  1. Connecticut
  2. Delaware
  3. Georgia
  4. Hawaii
  5. Iowa
  6. Kansas
  7. Massachusetts
  8. Minnesota
  9. Nebraska
  10. Nevada
  11. New Mexico
  12. New York
  13. Ohio
  14. Oklahoma
  15. Pennsylvania
  16. Rhode Island
  17. South Carolina
  18. Tennessee
  19. Utah